Joey Savatgy keeps Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s win streak alive

Minneapolis (February 18, 2017) – Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Joey Savatgy kept a personal and team win streak alive as he claimed the first victory of the 2017 Eastern Regional 250SX Championship inside U.S. Bank Stadium. While Savatgy extended the Pro Circuit win streak to five, he also continued his win streak started at the final race in Las Vegas last season. Teammate Adam Cianciarulo overcame a tough start to finish fifth.

Joey Savatgy
Savatgy was just edged out for the top spot in qualifying, but had no problem claiming his first heat race win of the season. In the main event, Savatgy got a great start and settled in behind the leader on the opening laps. Just before halfway, he was able to get by the leader and bring home another win for the Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki team.

“It was a tight track that was a bit tricky,” said Savatgy. “I just tried to stay close to the leader and was able to get around him. We have some stuff we can work on this week and I’m really looking forward to the race this weekend in Atlanta.”

Adam Cianciarulo
In his first supercross race back since 2014, Cianciarulo was ready to shake off the cobwebs and prove his speed on the track. He qualified fourth overall and finished just behind his teammate in the heat race for second. Once the main event kicked off, Cianciarulo had a bit of work to do after a mid-pack start but he was up to the challenge and made passes all the way up fifth.

“I think I rode pretty tight since it has been a few years I’ve been behind a supercross starting gate,” said Cianciarulo. “I think my confidence is there and happy that we got some good points out of my first race back as we head to Atlanta.”


250SX Class Main Event Results

  1. Joey Savatgy (Kawasaki)
  2. Jordon Smith (KTM)
  3. Zach Osborne (Husqvarna)
  4. RJ Hampshire (Honda)
  5. Adam Cianciarulo (Kawasaki)
  6. Dylan Ferrandis (Yamaha)
  7. Anthony Rodriguez (Yamaha)
  8. Luke Renzland (Yamaha)
  9. Kyle Peters (Suzuki)
  10. Colt Nichols (Yamaha)


Comments are closed.